Tuesday, 29 May 2018

A Release Day Review: Then There Was You by Miranda Liasson

Dr Sara Langdon put aside her painful personal feelings as she returns to Angel Falls because her grandmother needs her. As the police chief, crossing paths with Colton Walker is always going to be inevitable in this small town but she wasn't expecting it to be so soon after her arrival. In her absence, the man whose actions were the catalyst for her fiancé dumping her before her wedding is a good friend of her brother but her grandmother too.

Angel Falls Police Chief Colton Walker loves his life and works in the small town he calls home. When his best friend's ex-fiancée arrives back to help care for her elderly grandmother he knew he was heading for trouble. Especially when the woman isn't aware of all the facts...the truth.

When you're blamed for causing the break-up and ensuing embarrassment for the bride jilted before her wedding, Colton's coping strategy towards Sara does little to improve their fractured relationship. His actions aggravate her anger towards him until the truths from their high school years are uncovered and changes their attitude and feelings towards each other for the better.

Sworn enemies to lovers, this is a slow burn romance with sexual tension sizzling in the background. The protagonists both struggle to ignore their attraction to each other and use defence mechanisms to try to counteract the draw to each other. With them both basing their attitudes on what they believe to be true of the other, it isn't until Tagg, the person with links to them both that the truth begins to surface. Only he also wants Sara back...

As the first book in this Angel Falls series, The There Was You has established a wonderful foundation for future novels set against this small town backdrop. The secondary characters lend a warm family and community spirit to the proceedings. I really enjoyed how the families of both protagonists complemented them and their tentative relationship as we learn more about them too. Whilst I mostly loved this aspect of the narrative, there's phase in the middle of the novel where I would have preferred more emphasis on Sara and Colton. Overall, I appreciated the sentiment enough to continue and read more from this Angel Falls series and Ms Liasson.

***arc generously received courtesy of Forever via NetGalley***

"Emotional, heartwarming romance you can't put down."-- Lori Wilde, New York Times bestselling author 

Welcome to Angel Falls, a town so delightful even enemies can't help falling in love!

Angel Falls is the last place Sara Langdon wants to be. Her hometown may be charming, but it's also filled with memories of her "wedding-that-never-was." Yet Sara's grandmother needs her, and joining her dad at his medical practice gives Sara time to figure out what she wants for her future. But when her first patient turns out to be Colton Walker, the man who sabotaged her wedding, Sara starts to wonder if she'll ever be able to escape her past.

As police chief, Colton Walker is devoted to his small town, and he's equally determined to avoid its newest resident. He and Sara have always gotten along like oil and water, and since the bachelor party incident, he's her Enemy #1. But after sharing an unexpected--and unexpectedly hot--kiss, Colton starts to wonder if the woman he's always fighting with is the one he should be fighting for.

Cover Reveal: Summer at the Little Duck Pond Cafe by Rosie Green

Summer at The Little Duck Pond Café
Jaz Winters stuck a pin in a map and fled to the village of Sunnybrook, looking for a brand new life – and after a rocky start, it’s beginning to look as if she made the right decision. Her blossoming friendship with Ellie and Fen has seen her through some dark times, and she’s managed to land two jobs – waitress at The Little Duck Pond Café and working as a weekend tour guide at Brambleberry Manor, the country house that’s been in Fen’s family for generations.
Sure, life isn’t totally perfect. There’s the irritating know-it-all guy who keeps popping up on her manor tours, for a start. He seems determined to get under Jaz’s skin whether she likes it or not. But she supposes it’s a small price to pay for the relative peace she’s found, living in Sunnybrook.
But just as Jaz is beginning to think rosier times are on the horizon, a shock encounter looks set to shatter her fragile happiness.
Will she be forced to flee from Sunnybrook and everyone she’s grown so fond of? Or will she find the strength to stand her ground and finally face up to the nightmares of the past?
This novella is part of a trilogy:
Spring at The Little Duck Pond Café
Summer at The Little Duck Pond Café
Winter at The Little Duck Pond Café

   Amazon US     Amazon UK 

Rosie Green has been scribbling stories ever since she was little. Back then they were rip-roaring adventure tales with a young heroine in perilous danger of falling off a cliff or being tied up by ‘the baddies’. Thankfully, Rosie has moved on somewhat, and now much prefers to write romantic comedies that melt your heart and make you smile, with really not much perilous danger involved at all, unless you count the heroine losing her heart in love.
Rosie’s brand new series of novellas is centred on life in a village café. Summer at The Little Duck Pond Café, published on 18th June 2018, follows the first in the series, Spring at The Little Duck Pond Café.